Aspen Edities

  • Image mononoaware.png
Linus + Økland/Van Heertum/Zach

mono no aware

€ 15 (CD) € SOLD OUT (LP)
LP includes download code

Ruben Machtelinckx: guitar, baritone guitar, banjo Thomas Jillings: saxophones, alto clarinet Nils Økland: hardanger fiddle Niels Van Heertum: euphonium, trumpet Ingar Zach: percussion

Recorded on 5 and 6 July 2017 by Christophe Albertijn at deSingel
Mixed by Werner Pensaert at Linster Studios
Mastered by Gert Van Hoof at Cochlea

Artwork ‘Der Souffleur des Ichts’ by Ante Timmermans
Design by Robin Foesters

Buy Digital
"J'aimerai toujours le temps des cerises c'est de ce temps-là que je garde au cœur, une plaie ouverte."

  1. islander
  2. surge
  3. truth
  4. stir
  5. dewy
  6. fairbanks
  7. snakes and ladders
  8. still
  9. stray

In the greatest happiness there is a hint of sadness, provoked by the sudden realization that the bloom will come to an end, or by the agonizing sweetness of its own beauty. On this album five musicians come together, sometimes as distinct individuals, other times as a lush unison. Though the space occupied by Linus + O/VH/Z is modest, a use is found for every corner and every niche of the sonic room, through a scurrying banjo and a pair of imposing bells, with songlike melodies and resonant strings. The acoustic quintet ventures into measured doses of electronica, without ever letting the music lose focus.

All About Jazz: "This is an adventurous, extremely flexible group of players. They're not afraid to mix a bit of electronics in with their acoustic instruments, or to cross stylistic lines. Jazz, folk music, classical music and free improvisation are all fair game. There's also a feeling of welcome to listeners that is rare in experimental music." (★★★★)