Aspen Edities

lessness by Ruben Machtelinckx + Arve Henriksen

Ruben Machtelinckx: guitar, tenor guitar, composition
Arve Henriksen: trumpet

From the album 'a short story'

Artwork: Jockum Nordström

Blog Image ITxKWC7Nl3cm1U8MyOPGHWWI7rKaR0tP19lp4z8J.jpeg

New release: als ik niets meer van de kano zie

Improvised music by Frederik Leroux, Frans Van Isacker and Kris Vanderstraeten. Their improvised debut album sounds democratic, frank and yet controlled.

Very limited LP – only 100 copies – with wonderful artwork by Naninga Lens.

No time to waste.

plainlight by Eyvind Kang

From the new album 'sonic gnostic' by Eyvind Kang

Artwork: Bart De Clercq

Aspen 011

Aspen Label Nights 2021-2022

Aspen Edities and Jazzlab present a concert series with music that moves between jazz and improvisation, contemporary classical music, pop and folk influences, and electronics. This label night combines established bands – Veder, Linus + Økland/Van Heertum/Zach, Machtelinckx/Badenhorst/Cools/Gouband – with extra constallations of artists, like Bára Sigfúsdóttir, Fredrik Rasten and Raphael Vanoli.

Video and copyright: Ante Timmermans
Music: Veder - Die Immergrüne

06 Oct 2021    Machtelinckx/Badenhorst/Cools/Gouband (AMOK Festival)     KAAP / Brugge, Brugge     Ticke...

Read More

Aspen Entente 01: Seppe Gebruers

In an Aspen Entente we talk to characters in music. People with whom we expect to find an understanding in the way they make or experience music. In this first episode: Seppe Gebruers. The conversation is in Dutch.

Guest: Seppe Gebruers
Interview: Thomas Jillings & Sanne Huysmans
Recording & edit: Thomas Jillings, Niels Van Heertum & Sanne Huysmans
Photography: Erik Bogaerts
Jingle: Ruben Machtelinckx & Lies Steppe

Music played in the podcast:
Seppe Gebruers - Playing with 'De Vlaamse Leeuw'
Seppe Gebruers - Playing with 'Last Night When We Were Young'
Seppe Gebruers & Thijs Troch - a track from their upcoming album
Jörg Demus plays Sc...

Read More

Eyvind Kang - sonic gnostic

Presenting this wonderful music by Eyvind Kang featuring Bill Frisell, Tim Tsang, Timothy Young, Lu Coy, Breana Gilcher, Diego Gaeta, Jessika Kenney, Jesse Quebbeman Turley and Adrienne Varner. 'sonic gnostic' will be available as limited double LP and CD in August 21.

Artwork by Bart De Clercq