Aspen Edities

Aspen Label Nights 2021-2022

Aspen Edities and Jazzlab present a concert series with music that moves between jazz and improvisation, contemporary classical music, pop and folk influences, and electronics. This label night combines established bands – Veder, Linus + Økland/Van Heertum/Zach, Machtelinckx/Badenhorst/Cools/Gouband – with extra constallations of artists, like Bára Sigfúsdóttir, Fredrik Rasten and Raphael Vanoli.

Video and copyright: Ante Timmermans
Music: Veder - Die Immergrüne

06 Oct 2021    Machtelinckx/Badenhorst/Cools/Gouband (AMOK Festival)     KAAP / Brugge, Brugge     Ticke...

Read More

Aspen Entente 01: Seppe Gebruers

In an Aspen Entente we talk to characters in music. People with whom we expect to find an understanding in the way they make or experience music. In this first episode: Seppe Gebruers. The conversation is in Dutch.

Guest: Seppe Gebruers
Interview: Thomas Jillings & Sanne Huysmans
Recording & edit: Thomas Jillings, Niels Van Heertum & Sanne Huysmans
Photography: Erik Bogaerts
Jingle: Ruben Machtelinckx & Lies Steppe

Music played in the podcast:
Seppe Gebruers - Playing with 'De Vlaamse Leeuw'
Seppe Gebruers - Playing with 'Last Night When We Were Young'
Seppe Gebruers & Thijs Troch - a track from their upcoming album
Jörg Demus plays Sc...

Read More

Eyvind Kang - sonic gnostic

Presenting this wonderful music by Eyvind Kang featuring Bill Frisell, Tim Tsang, Timothy Young, Lu Coy, Breana Gilcher, Diego Gaeta, Jessika Kenney, Jesse Quebbeman Turley and Adrienne Varner. 'sonic gnostic' will be available as limited double LP and CD in August 21.

Artwork by Bart De Clercq

'Porous structures' awarded as 'Best Belgian cd Jazz'

'Porous structures' is the debut album of Ruben Machtelinckx' new quartet. The album recently won the Klara award for Best Belgian cd Jazz.

From the jury report:

They remain true to the credo that adorns the album: ‘We become aware of the void as we fill it.’  In times when stillness has become pure luxury, Porous Structures is a welcome surprise. This album was released by the record label Aspen Edities by Ruben Machtelinckx and Niels Van Heertum. It is a beautiful object that has been put together with the utmost care and vision and that further strengthens the music.

About this release:

2019 a fruitful year for Ruben Machtelinckx. This proje...

Read More

maahan by ˈkɑːmos

From the debut album of ˈkɑːmos (Aino Peltomaa & Nathan Wouters)
Artwork: Dries Segers

Aspen 008